Home » PCOS » Week 28 update- Glucose challenge test

Week 28 update- Glucose challenge test

Wow, can’t believe I am writing this. I think I almost mentioned it in every pregnancy post that I didn’t think I will make it this far. Anyway, this week I am 28 weeks along and baby is the size of egg plant. 

She has been kicking a lot especially when I eat sweets. She doesn’t care so much for savory food. This week I have been a little anxious because of glucose challenge test. I thought there is no chance that I would pass the test because I am prediabetic before pregnancy. So days leading up to the test is slightly nerve racking. I wanted to eat carbohydrates because that’s my favorite and just about the only type I like to eat in pregnancy. I wanted to keep eating them because I was afraid I will be put on the low carb diet after I fail the test. At the same time I was afraid it will make my sugar go up further and I would fail the test so I was trying to control what I ate as well. 

Thursday morning I went into Dr’s office and they gave me the glucose drink. I know most people hates that drink but I actually like it. It is pretty good but I wish it was not cold though. Nurse gave to me from the fridge. I had to finish the drink within 5 mins. Then we went back to the waiting room and had to wait for one hour to get blood drawn. 

Then we were seen by my OB, routine checks (measuring the uterus, pee in the cup, weight, heartbeat etc). I am measuring between 28 to 29 weeks. The only concern was my blood pressure was slightly elevated, not too bad and no protein found in the urine. Dr told us to start coming in every two weeks to get checked and I will get lab result on Friday. 

Friday I called the office because I didn’t want to wait over the weekend and wondering if I need to go on low carb diet or not. The nurse called me back in the afternoon and told me my result was normal. What!!!!! No way!!! I definitely didn’t expect that at all. Unbelievable!! Of course I am really happy about this. I can still eat rice, pasta and bread!!! 

My husband has only felt baby move a couple times so far, for some reasons, our baby girl likes to play games with him. Whenever he put his hand on my belly, she stopps kicking. Almost like it is on purpose. My poor hubby. Hopefully he gets to experience more vigorous kick soon. Now I can sometimes see my belly moving from the outside which is totally weird. A little alien inside. 

2 thoughts on “Week 28 update- Glucose challenge test

Leave a comment